Next Chapter Book Reviews

Discover Your Next Favorite Book!

The Miniaturist

• •

The Miniaturist
By Jessie Burton
Ecco
Retail Price $26.99
Amazon Price: $17.07

Book Description: 

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

Review

 

Even though it was a bit hard to get into, this book ended up being a fantastic read.  This historical novel was set in the late 1600s and focused on a family who lived in Amsterdam. While it was told in the third person, it still felt very personal.  The novel was character driven and at every turn you learned a new facet to the story.  It was a well written, dark tale about family, betrayal, love and loss. It really had everything to make an exceptional read.

~Reviewed by Allie B.

 

 

Please Share!

    You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.