Next Chapter Book Reviews

Discover Your Next Favorite Book!

The Illusionists

• •

The Illusionists: A Novel

The Illusionists
By Rosie Thomas
Overlook Hardcover
Retail Price $27.95
B & N Price: $20.57

Book Description: 

 The intoxicating new novel of magic and intrigue by “a master storyteller” (Cosmopolitan), for fans of The Night Circus and Water for ElephantsOver the course of three decades of writing, bestselling novelist Rosie Thomas has earned an untold number of awards and the devotion of millions of loyal readers. Her new novel, The Illusionists, set in London in 1870, is a thrilling step forward—a captivating tale of passion and fantasy set in the theater world.

At the start of The Illusionists, we meet Eliza, a young, beautiful woman of limited means. Eliza is modern before her time. Not for her the stifling if respectable conventionality of marriage, children, domestic drudgery. She longs for more. Through her work as an artist’s model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil—a born showman whose dream is to run his own theater company.

Devil’s right-hand man is the improbably-named Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf with an enormous talent for all things magic and illusion. Carlo and Devil clash at every opportunity and it constantly falls upon Eliza to broker an uneasy peace between them. And then there is Jasper Button. Mild-mannered, and a family man at heart, it is his gift as an artist that makes him the unlikely final member of the motley crew.

Thrown together by a twist of fate, their lives are inextricably linked: the fortune of one depends on the fortune of the other. And as Eliza gets sucked into the seductive and dangerous world her strange companions inhabit, she risks not only her heart, but also her life, which is soon thrown into peril.

 

 

Review

This book was set in London in the late 19th century and brought together the most unlikely of companions.  The author did a great job setting the stage for the story with background information and developing the characters and their interactions. It took me a while to get into it, but once I did, I found it riveting.  This book had it all: romance, intrigue, and action which are the key ingredients for a great read.

~Reviewed by Allie B.

 

Please Share!

    You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.